The CDL Truck Driving Program at Northeast Alabama Community College will prepare you to safely and effectively operate a tractor trailer and pass the commercial driver's license (CDL) exam. The 160-hour program runs for four weeks.
For weekend class information click here.
Program Entry Requirements
|Payable to the College Before Class Starts||Tuition||$3,000|
|Payable to Outside Sources Before Class Starts||DOT Physical & Drug Screen||$175 (approximate)|
|Motor Vehicle Report||$5.75|
|Payable to Various Vendors During Class||CDL Written Test||$26|
|CDL Learner’s Permit||$38|
|CDL Driver’s License||$68.90 (Class A)|
|CDL Endorsements||$15.60 (each/ 5 possible)|
|Estimated Total Program Cost||$3,313.65|
Step 1 – Secure funding
Payment is due before the first day of course. This program is funded with Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA). To see if you qualify for WIOA funding, please contact your local Alabama Career Center. Tell them you are interested in attending the CDL class at Northeast Alabama Community College. It is imperative that you follow through with all the career center requirements. Once you have been certified as WIOA-eligible, you can apply online (see link below) or at the NACC Skills Training Office. If you are not WIOA-eligible, you may proceed with the program by paying the required tuition and fees.
Step 2 – Apply to Program
Or request a registration packet from the Skills Training office, 256-638-4418 or 256-228-6001, Extension 2214.
Step 3 – Attend an Orientation Session
Orientation sessions are held each month for students interested in pursuing CDL training. At this orientation, you will learn the steps necessary for you to secure your spot in the training program. At the orientation session you will receive a list of requirements and your expected class start date. You must submit all items to the Skills Training Office at least seven days (but no more than 21 days) prior to your class start date.
Bring the following items with you:
Step 4 – Complete Pre-Course Requirements
These items must be completed at least seven days before but no more than 21 days prior to the first day of class.
Supply your physical and proof of drug screen and MVR report by email to firstname.lastname@example.org or at orientaion but no later than 12:00 noon on the Friday before your class begins the following week. If all items required for your class are not received by that time your slot in the class will be forfeited.
You will incur the other following expenses during training:
|CDL Written Test||$26|
|CDL Learner's Permit||$38|
|CDL Driver's License||$68.90|
2021 Orientation Schedule
All orientations location given with online registration. Orientation time to be noted with contact. Please plan to arrive early. The orientation will last approximately 90 minutes. Please register for the orientation session by completing online registration or contacting Julie George at 256-228-6001, ext. 2214 or via email at email@example.com.
2021 Class Schedule
Students must apply for the program and will be notified of the class in which they are accepted. Class schedules for 2021 include:
Day Classes (Monday – Thursday, 10-hour days) Fridays of last week reserve for CDL Exam
All schedules are subject to change without notice.
TBA Class meets on Saturdays from 8AM-6PM and Sundays from 8AM-5PM. Attendance is mandatory.
Education verifications please email firstname.lastname@example.org or fax 256-228-3309