April 14, 2011


Mu Alpha Theta Conducts Algebra I Bowl

Mu Alpha Theta, the mathematics honor society at Northeast Alabama Community College hosted an Algebra I Bowl on April 2, 2011. Kaleb Crabtree, an 8th grader at Scottsboro Jr. High School, had the highest score. The Mu Alpha Theta officers presented him with a new TI-84+ graphing calculator, certificate, and M&Mís (because "math matters").

While students took the exam, parents were treated to a college prep presentation conducted by Tonie Niblett, Dean of Student Services, and Winnie Yates, Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Student Services. Coordinators of the Algebra I Bowl are the 2010-11 Mu Alpha Theta officers and sponsors: Marvin Standekar (president), Marianne Gilliam (vice president), Lee Ann Hanback (secretary), Chris Johnson (treasurer), Shane Glover (reporter), and Brittany Griffin (parliamentarian), Greg Millican (sponsor), Sharon Totten (sponsor), and Milah Breland (sponsor). Newly elected 2011-12 officers also assisted with the event: Kim Dalton (president-elect), Ashley Graham (vice-president-elect), Brian Palmer (secretary-elect), Tyler Thompson (treasurer-elect), and Josh Banzhoff (parliamentarian-elect).

For more information about Mu Alpha Theta at NACC, contact Milah Breland at 256-638-4418 or 256-228-6001, ext. 386, or by email at


Algebra I Bowl winner Kaleb Crabtree (center) is congratulated by Mu Alpha Theta President-Elect Kim Dalton (left) and current Mu Alpha Theta President Marvin Standekar (right).