April 29, 2009


Local Schools Represented in NACC's Literary Magazine

The Northeast Alabama Community College chapter of Sigma Kappa Delta, the English honorary for two-year schools, is proud to announce the winners of the 2009 Writing Competition for students in area middle schools and high schools. The winning students' work will be published in the upcoming edition of the Aurora, the college’s award-winning literary magazine.

NACC’s Epsilon Alpha chapter of Sigma Kappa Delta began sponsoring the high school/middle school competition in 2001. Since then, students from Jackson and DeKalb counties have proudly displayed their writing talent. Last year, Dade County was included in the competition. Each year the college asks area teachers to submit poetry, fiction, and essays from students in grades 7-9 and 10-12. These entries are then judged by a panel of Sigma Kappa Delta members and NACC faculty. The top three students in each area of each division are given certificates and pen sets and are recognized at NACC’s annual awards day program.

This year’s competition was quite successful. The college received forty-two entries from schools in DeKalb County, Jackson County, Dade County, and Fort Payne City systems. The winners are as follow: Fiction 7-9—1st Place Brett Bankston (Crossville), 2nd Place Jordan Bryant (Sylvania), and 3rd Place Amber Uptain (Crossville); Poetry 7-9—1st Place Zac McCurdy (Ft. Payne), 2nd Place Graham Dodd (Ft. Payne), and 3rd Place Mellie Lammon (Ft. Payne); Essay 7-9—1st Place Sarah Wootten (Sylvania), 2nd Place Gavin Barkley (Crossville), and 3rd Place Sarah Hansen (Ft. Payne); Fiction 10-12—1st Place Stephanie Sledge (North Sand Mountain), 2nd Place Savannah Sisco (Crossville), and 3rd Place Brittany New (Dade County); Poetry 10-12—1st Place Austin Mullican (Paint Rock Valley), 2nd Place Tyler Owens (Crossville), and 3rd Place Natasha Atchley (North Sand Mountain); Essay 10-12—1st Place Dusty Shrader (North Sand Mountain) and 2nd Place Justin Mayo (Crossville).

Congratulations to all these talented students and their teachers. The teachers responsible for working with these students were Courtney Ashburn (Paint Rock Valley), Valerie Smith (North Sand Mountain), Pat Edmonds (Sylvania), Bettina Goins (North Sand Mountain), Jeannie Woods and Jessica Reeves (Ft. Payne), Carla Luther (Crossville High), Patsy Townson (Crossville), Cynthia Bowden (Dade County), and Tracy Gilliland (Crossville).

For more information about the annual literary competition conducted by Northeast’s Sigma Kappa Delta chapter, please contact Joan Reeves, chapter sponsor and Chair of the English and Fine Arts Division, at  phone ext. 347.

Winners and teachers pictured are (L-R, kneeling) Graham Dodd, Gavin Barkley, Brett Bankston, Tyler Owens, Justin Mayo, Amber Uptain; (2nd row) Mellie Lammon, Patsy Townson, Tracy Gilliam, Jordan Bryant, Bettina Goins; (3rd row) Carla Luther, Austin Mullican, Stephanie Sledge, Natasha Atchley, Dusty Shrader, Pat Edmonds, and Sarah Wootten; (back row) Clay Webber, Valerie Smith, and Nia Stivers. Not pictured are Sarah Hansen, Zac McCurdy, Savannah Sisco, and Brittany New.
Winners display their prize certificates at NACC Awards Day.

Photo and article by Cindy Holland.