NEWS

 

 

December 18, 2008

 

Arts & Humanities Speaker’s Forum To Feature Award-Winning Author Pamela Duncan March 5

Award-winning novelist Pamela Duncan will be the featured author for the Arts and Humanities Speaker’s Forum at Northeast Alabama Community College on March 5, 2009, at 10:00 a.m. Duncan’s presentation will be held in the Tom Bevill Lyceum and is free to the public. A book signing will follow, and copies of Duncan’s books will be available for purchase in the lobby of the Lyceum.

Duncan is the author of three novels—Moon Women (2001), Plant Life (2003), and The Big Beautiful (2007). Her first novel was a Southeastern Booksellers Association Award Finalist; her second novel was awarded the 2003 Sir Walter Raleigh Award for Fiction. Pamela Duncan also is the recipient of the 2007 James Still Award for Writing about the Appalachian South by the Fellowship of Southern Writers.

Duncan was born in Asheville, North Carolina, but grew up in Black Mountain, Swannanoa, and Shelby, North Carolina. She holds a BA in journalism from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and an MA in English/Creative Writing from North Carolina State University in Raleigh. She lives in Cullowhee, North Carolina, and teaches creative writing at Western Carolina University.

Pamela DuncanThe Washington Post writes about Duncan’s Plant Life, “Duncan has a fine ear for dialect, which finds expression in a series of striking set-pieces...Well crafted, with expert attention to the cadence of regional speech patterns, these short pieces ring with the authority of oral history...It is a novel with heart.” About Duncan’s Moon Women, Publisher’s Weekly states, “In the tradition of Fannie Flagg and Rebecca Wells comes a Southern-fried debut.... Duncan shows promise as a from-the-heart, quirky storyteller.” Furthermore, Southern author Lee Smith states about Duncan’s The Big Beautiful, “Jane Austen meets Mayberry: for once, a real romance, with a heroine worthy of it! Smart, sweet, and funny. This is one big, beautiful, life-affirming novel.”

The 2009 NACC Arts and Humanities Speaker’s Forum is sponsored by the English and Fine Arts division and the college’s English honor society, Sigma Kappa Delta. For more information regarding the Arts and Humanities Speaker’s Forum, contact Joan Reeves, NACC Chair English and Fine Arts, at phone ext. 347 or reevesj@nacc.edu.