April 10, 2014


Mu Alpha Theta Scholarships and Spring Events

The Northeast Alabama Community College chapter of Mu Alpha Theta, the mathematics honor society, sponsored two dual enrollment math scholarships, each valued at $420, during the spring semester for students in area schools. Recipients were Jayla Genae Brewster from North Jackson and Brittany Elisabeth Evans from Fort Payne.

The NACC chapter also offered one $500 Summer Honors Scholarship to a current Mu Alpha Theta member planning to register for at least three semester hours during the summer semester. The 2014 scholarship recipient is Sarah Calvert, a sophomore from Grove Oak majoring in electrical engineering.

Mu Alpha Theta sponsored an Algebra I Bowl at NACC for area Algebra I students on April 3, 2014. This individual competition is held annually to encourage students to excel in mathematics. Heather Hallmark from Section High School earned the highest score and received a TI-84+C graphing calculator and m&m’s (because math matters!). Section High School and Woodville High School tied for the most participants, so each school also received a graphing calculator. Parents and chaperones attended a college orientation session presented by Sherry Whitten, director of the College and Career Planning Center.

In other news, Mu Alpha Theta celebrated the circle on 3.14 Pi Day (March 14) in the Student Center with m&m’s, pie samples, hula hoops, ring toss, basketball toss, and a moon pie eating contest.

An induction ceremony was recently held to recognize the 65 new members from the spring semester. Current 2013-14 officers conducted the ceremony: President – Daniel Richey; Vice-President – Jacob Cleveland; Secretary – Brooke Kuykendall; Treasurer – Sarah Calvert; and Parliamentarian – Tomas Roberts.

Guest speaker Derrick R. Wilson described his responsibilities as a civil engineer and District Manager of the Alabama Department of Transportation, First Division, which includes Madison County and parts of Jackson County. Wilson graduated from Geraldine High School in 2000, Northeast Alabama Community College in 2002, and Auburn University in 2005. He pointed out that the current top 15 highest paying careers are from degrees related to mathematics and engineering. For all careers, however, he referred to research that noted common traits of successful people: integrity, strong work ethic, interpersonal skills, goal-oriented, and perseverance through adversity. Wilson closed the program with a motivational poem he received from his high school football coach. He keeps a framed print of this “State of Mind” poem by Walter D. Wintle displayed in his office.

New Mu Alpha Theta members for the Spring 2014 semester are Amelia Adkins, Gabriel Bailer, Nik Beaty, Cameron Benefield, Corey Glen Bevel, Shannon Michelle Bradbury, John Breland, Andrew Brewster, Forrest Brooks, Emily Rose Brown, Lucas Bryant, Katherine Joyce Bryant, Jessica Cagle, John Cavin, Shawna Faleama Clark, Chelsea Dawn Collins, William Grason Cordell, Kaleb Crabtree, Laura DeBord, Chelsea B. Dunn, Brittany Elisabeth Evans, Kayla Fowler, J. T. Gilbreath, Tanner Glenn Gilliam, Cody Goff, Diana C. Goss, Hayden David Gray, Jacob Ryan Gray, Christa Taylor Hastings, Russell John-Patrick Hatley, Hallie Higginbotham, April Christine Hodges, Logan Holkem, Jonathan Andrew Horsfield, Caleb Hughes, Matthew Jenkins, William R. Lacy, Macy Laney, Richard Lavallee, Sara Lovelady, Derek R. Maness, Ellen Mannon, Dylan Mason, Lauren McConnell, Sydney Rebecca Monroe, Grayson Palmer, Hunter Cole Payne, Abby Gail Petty, Noah Steven Pope, Justin Putman, Jacob Tyler Raughton, Tara Marie Reynolds, Garrett Blake Rodgers, Trent Shelton, Brooke Shropshire, Anthony Stansell, Cayne C. Stephens, William Keith Summers, Zebadiah Charles Sutton, Riley Vincent, Cheyenne Warren, Daniel Warren, John Quaid Westmoreland, Jason Wilborn, and Jake Wright.

Mu Alpha Theta is the national mathematics honor society for community college and high school students throughout the United States. The purpose of Mu Alpha Theta is to promote scholarship in, and enjoyment and understanding of, mathematics. To be eligible for membership in Mu Alpha Theta a student must have completed MTH112 Precalculus Algebra or a higher level mathematics course; have a 3.0 GPA (out of a possible 4.0) in all two year college mathematics courses at or above the MTH112 level; and be pursuing a higher level mathematics course, that is one above the MTH112 level.

For questions regarding mathematics courses at NACC contact a Mu Alpha Theta sponsor: Greg Millican, Mathematics Division Chair, phone ext. 2263,; Milah Breland, ext. 2262,  or Adam Niblett, ext. 2389,

(Above) Many of the newly inducted Mu Alpha Theta members
(Below) Officers pictured with induction speaker (L to R) Sarah Calvert, Tomas Roberts, Jacob Cleveland, Derrick Wilson,  Daniel Richey, and Brooke Kuykendall


(Left) Mu Alpha Theta president Daniel Richey presenting Algebra I Bowl top scorer Heather Hallmark from Section High School a new graphing calculator and certificate

(Below) Algebra I Bowl participants (L-R, front) Hannah Baker, Kiara Crisp, Dustin Dean, Destiny O’Quinn, Sarah Evans, Emily Young, Olivia Kreydatus; (back) Krista Eldridge, Heather Hallmark, Harley Little, Sierra Southard, Jordan Prather, and Carson Tanner